About District

Gaya was  passed on  to the  Britishers  after the battle of Buxar in 1764. Gaya initially formed a part of the district of Behar and Ramgarh till 1864. It was given the status of independent district on 3rd October in the year 1865 comprising of Gaya, Aurangabad, Nawada as its Sub-Divisions. Gaya, along with other parts of the country, won freedom in the year 1947.  In course of time, Aurangabad and Nawada Districts were carved out of original Gaya in the year 1973 and Jehanabad was carved out of Gaya district on 1st August, 1986. In recent past, Arwal district was carved out of Jehanabad district in August 2001.

Subsequently, in May 1981, Magadh Division was created by the Bihar State Government with the districts of Gaya, Nawada, Aurangabad and Jehanabad. Presntly, Magadh Division comprises of 05 Districts namely, Gaya, Aurangabad, Nawada, Jehanabad and Arwal


District Head Quarters Language
Gaya Gaya Hindi


Total Rural Urban
4,976 Sq.Kms 4890.74 Sq.Kms 85.26 Sq.Kms

Population (Census-2011)

Total Rural Urban
43,91 lakhs 38,09,817 5,81,601


 No. of Assembly Constituencies  No. of Loksabha Constituency
10 01 (Gaya -‘SC’)